We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

error message on updating main.jrxml file

jadavis

I am new to IReport and Jasper Server (actually just downloaded and installed ver 3.1.4).  I created my first jasper report via IReport plugin.   this worked as expected and I was able to run it through the plugin interface.   Now, when I attempt to edit it, i open the main.jrxml file locally (which creates a tmp file locally) and make my changes.   Once, I've made my changes, I'm attempting to replace the main.jrxml file.   I've tried the following: 

1) right click on main.jrxml file and select "replace with current jrxml file"

2) right click on main.jrxml file and select properties and resource tab and attempt to replace it with the locally modified file.

In both cases I get the same error message:

Error:

2 - 1 Validation error(s):

A resource already has this name

Just looking for some help with this.

Thanks

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 2 weeks later...

I am also new to iReport and JasperServer.  I am getting the same error.  Which version of JasperServer will see the correction of this bug?  I am using JS 3.5 and iReport 3.5. 

And, owing that we probably won't just hop on upgrading the server, how can I workaround this in the mean time?  Thank you.

Hi jrm,

are you experiencing this error with iR/JS 3.5 ?  Can you tell me what is your environment and give me more details? Like what user created the report unit, which one is trying to update the jrxml, what permissions are set for the report unit?

Or if you prefer, a way to reproduce the problem?

Thanks, it would be really appreciated.

Giulio

Hi Giulio,

This is a pure prototype test at this point. I am running iR 3.5 and JS 3.5. Both locally. My machine is running XP SP2.