We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

how we add sub report in java code

sarveshawasthi

Hi all,

I am new in jasper design, now I am trying to add a sub report (.jrxml or .jsper) in our master report (JasperDesign Code) in java class but I am not getting any hint that how I can do it   .

Can any on please provide me a sample code for my problem.

Please do it ASAP, Thank’s in Advance

Post Edited by test4only at 10/28/2009 11:49

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Look in the subreport example from jasper reports download. In the .java file you'll see an entry like this:

JasperReport subreport = (JasperReport)JRLoader.loadObjectFromLocation("ProductReport.jasper");

//Preparing parameters
Map parameters = new HashMap();
parameters.put("ProductsSubreport", subreport);

Then in you .jrxml file there will be a section like this. iReport will create this. In iReport the parameter class is net.sf.jasperreports.engine.JasperReport. The subReportParameter Name is the parameter where the data link is passed.  This part is from my report since it include the parameter name for the data link between the two. (that and I happened to have it opened :).

<band height="27">
<subreport>
<reportElement x="0" y="0" width="572" height="25"/>
<subreportParameter name="OPPTSOL_LINK">
<subreportParameterExpression><![CDATA[$F{oppt_id}]]></subreportParameterExpression>
</subreportParameter>
<connectionExpression><![CDATA[$P{REPORT_CONNECTION}]]></connectionExpression>
<subreportExpression class="java.lang.String"><![CDATA["SolutionOverview_Solution1.jasper"]]></subreportExpression>
</subreport>
</band>

Post Edited by jvway at 11/02/2009 23:32

Thanks for replay,

But this code we can use in our Master.jrxml while designing with ireport or jrxml designing tool.

In fact I want to write this code through java code because master report I am designing by the use of JasperDesign API.