We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Embedding Html/Javascript code in Jasper report

selbag

Hi,

Is it possible to embed Html/Javascript code with in jasper report developed using ireport, this option is available in Pentaho report designer, I am new to Jasper and didn't find this option, please let me know if its possible or not.

Thanks

Selva

• 1 month later...
  • Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi,

JasperReports let's you embed Javascript into the report exported to HTML in various ways.

But you need to tell what kind of Javascript it is and what exactly it does, in order to tell you how to go about it?

There must be somthing else you did not like in Pentaho that made you give us a try. What was that?

Thank you,

Teodor

• 3 months later...
  • 1 year later...
  • 8 months later...

Hi Svenn,

Previously, I have used TCPDF to generate PDF reports from html files. But now I wish to make use of jasper reports  and reuse those html files. Some of these files contain tables tags created dynamically. Is it even possible for me to make a switch over?

Please advice. Thanks.

Regards,
Shiva

• 2 months later...

I'll start by saying that it is possible to use HTML, Javascript, jQuery, VBScript and even AJAX in a Jasper Report. 

In at least one report, I am creating an <input type="hidden"> and a <input type="checkbox"> for each row, and am calling a javascript function from the onclick of the checkbox which triggers an AJAX call, which stores the returned value in the hidden field for that row.  It works flawlessly!

Limitations - it will only work when the report is exported to HTML and presented in a browser - kinda obvious. 

My own use looks something like the following...

I have a Servlet that handles JasperReport calls (i.e. URLs that end with /JasperReports.