We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Running a report with REST API

khurram.bilal

Hi,

I am new to JASPER. I am trying to use postman to call jasper report before writing a code for the application. Unfortunately the documentation is not explaining the steps needed in a sequence. 

This is the url i am using. http://jrfir01aplxa:8080/jasperserver-pro/rest/login?j_username=username&j_password=pass

I believe valid login is needed. When i use the following URL in postman and provide the credentials i am able to see a response in HTML, which contains

Create Report

To begin creating a report, select an Ad Hoc view.

I feel thats an indication that the login request has been successful. 

Next, i like to call the method to execute the existing report and display in browser. From the documentation https://community.jaspersoft.com/documentation/tibco-jasperreports-server-web-services-guide/v610/running-report-asynchronously-0, 

i have picked this url 

http://MYSERVER:8080/jasperserver-pro/rest_v2/reportExecutions (Is this the correct URL to use??)

Request:

Using PUT in postman

Here is the body in postman that i have added but i get an error

<reportExecutionRequest>    <reportUnitUri>         /organizations/my_company_Reporting/organizations/My_System/Reports/NEW ACCOUNTS    </reportUnitUri>    <async>true</async>    <freshData>false</freshData>    <saveDataSnapshot>false</saveDataSnapshot>    <outputFormat>html</outputFormat>    <interactive>true</interactive>    <ignorePagination>false</ignorePagination>    <pages>1-5</pages>    <parameters>        <reportParameter name="PARAM 2">            <value>###</value>        </reportParameter>        <reportParameter name="PARAM 1">            <value>###</value>        </reportParameter>    </parameters></reportExecutionRequest>[/code]

ERROR: