Changes to the Jaspersoft community edition download ×

How to create an Excel data source in JasperReports Server?

baseballstorm50
Go to solution Solved by Yuri Savochenko,

Hi, I am fairly new to JasperServer, and I am trying to deploy a new report to JasperReports Server 5.0.0 using an Excel data source. I successfully connected my Excel file as a data source to create the report using iReport, but I do not understand how to add that Excel file to JasperServer so that I can connect it to the report on the server. When I am logged into JasperServer using the default admin accout, "jasperadmin," I right-click on "Data Sources" on the left side of the screen and then I select "Add Resource > JasperReport."  Then I see this page:

JasperServer2.PNG.c284138e506b71ae028d4e3666911f17.PNG

I select my local JRXML file and type the name "testPieChart," and then I select the "Data Source" button on the left, where you set up the data source connection. Then, I select the option to "Click here to create a new data source" which then brings me to this page: 

JasperServer3.PNG.d2e5a3dde02dd0071ae378ba35c50b79.PNG

Under the drop-down menu for "type" there are options for 

• Bean Data Source
  • Hadoop-Hive Data Source
  • Internal Diagnostic Data Source
  • JDBC Data Source
  • JNDI Data Source
  • Mongo DB Data Source
  • Virtual Data Source

So, how to I create an Excel data source? Do I use one of the above types? I really need to use Excel files as data sources for my application so any help would be extremely appreciated.

Thanks!

Edit - I'm sorry about the formatting of the screen shots

JasperServer2.PNG.65eb4286d584a020e64b4f5c7c3489f5.PNG

JasperServer3.PNG.61a84b312a087f3dd77953b703d38d90.PNG

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic