Changes to the Jaspersoft community edition download ×

Query Designer

mich2187

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Hani,

in iReport we use an open source project called SQLeonaro as query designer. It is not very powerful, but good enough for what we need.

On the Eclipse platform there are several projects which provide database management solutions, but not really a visual query designer. This is one of the projects on which we would appreciate a lot a a contribution from the community.

We have not yet clear plans about replacing SQLeonardo on Jaspersoft Studio, and proposal are more than welcome.

Just in case, would you able to contrinute a similar tool based on SWT?

Thanks a lot!

Giulio

Hi,

Actualy I'm a student and I'm studying JasperSoft Studio. Plugin Development under Eclipse is new for me, but It will be a good idea if it's possible with some practice to contribute to such a project !

Thank you !

Best regards,
Hani Chalouati

Hi,

After some research and tests, I've been able to integrate the Data Tools Platform Query Builder. Yet it's just for testing purpose and many work need to be done.

I'm just asking if it's interessant to take advantage of the DTP QueryBuilder and integrate it completly on JasperSoft Studio, if so, I will continue my work on it :).

Thanks

• 1 month later...

Hi Hani,

this is definitively the way to go. We don't only would like to use the query designer provided by the DTP plugin, but even provide a way (a DataAdapter implementation) to use DTP data sources with reports.

Would you able to share your code? I see you have added a button to the old datasource of Jaspersoft Studio, the datasource configuration is changed, now we have a set of (pluggable) DataAdapters.

The designer (the "Design Query" button if you will) will be added inside the query dialog which we are working on this week.

Thanks a lot!

Giulio

Hi,