We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

variable calculation advice needed

winfried

Hello all,

I'm new to iReport and would like to achieve the following task but have problems, how to do it:

I created a datasource, which fetches a time series from a database table. I receive  a list of values, which I want to see in the report. This is easy, I created the fields in the details band and get the values displayed correctly.

At the end of the table, I want to see the average value, which I created as a variable "average" of the java class "java.lang.Double", the calculation "Average", Reset type "Report", increment type "None", variable expression of the value field name from the database table. To display the average value, I created a text field, with text field expression "$V{average}" and evaluation time "Auto". The value is displayed correctly and there are no problems, yet.

Additionally to the value field from the database table, I want to display in the details band the deviation of the current value to the average value. First, I tried to create an additional variable "deviation" with the following variable expression: "Math.abs($V{average}-$F{VALUE})". This should show me the deviation as an absolute value. But unfortunately, the used "average" value is the current average of the line, not the final average value, which I see in the text field, when the report is generated. So, I created a text field instead, with the same expression as the "deviation" variable ("Math.abs($V{average}-$F{VALUE})") and used the evaluation time "Auto". So, I see the correct deviation and also no problem yet.