We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

input control to choose subreports?

manshack_one

I have a need to run a master report and choose, using an input control, which subreports to include.  The subreports are already built and established reports on their own but now there's a need to print different combinations of them instead of printing them one at a time individually.  I'm hoping to be able to use a multiselect input control.  any ideas?

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

hi, in my opinion you should only to pass the name of your subrpt like a param.
Follows theese steps:
1- create a param (type String) and check the relative property that allows it to be used as prompt; call this param for example "subRptName";
2- in your main rpt go on the sub rpt properties and modify the (default) subreport expression: $P{SUBREPORT_DIR} + "<nameOfYourSubReport>.jasper"
with this one: $P{SUBREPORT_DIR} + $P{subRptName}.

hope this help you

p.s. Remember  that it is  also possible to pass direcly the subrpt jasper file like param

Giovanni

...La puissance est rien sans controle...

Post Edited by giobby at 11/07/2009 08:27

I think I'm following you.  Basically create as many subreport components as I will need and use the existing reports as the source.  Then change the subreport expression to include the parameter.

Where I get lost is collecting that parameter.  Since I need a multiselect the parameter has to handle a collection right?  Do I just put the $X{} syntax in the main report query?  Like I said, I understand the parameter part on the subreports.  I just don't understand how you pass that in unless it's part of the query.

hi manshack_one,

my english is a little bit approximate, surely i've not understand very well what is your problem.

I think is better to wait another one's reply...

i'm really sorry but i can't understand the 2nd part of your post.

Giovanni