JasperReports Library 7.0 is now available ×

Newbie needs help

By: Gopal - ggopal

Newbie needs help

2005-04-05 08:50

Hi Jasper Experts:

First of, I am not an expert either in java /jasper. I can pretty much hack something together in java and that's what I am doing currently.

I have a java application that does processing of data. Basically, reads data from a data source, calls a validator, calls an output formatter and writes out an output record (text file format).

Now, in the validators & formatters routine, I need to incorporate a reporting mechanism.

I would prefer to design the report template outside of my java app using any of the available jasper designer. That's cool.

Now, within my java app, I need to do the following:

1) load the pre-defined report template -- don't know how ...

2) Call jasper api's to write out detail lines as I process each input record -- don't know how ...

3) finally, at the end of processing, I need to be able to either preview it, export it to pdf etc ... again, these options to be set in my java app. again don't know jasper api to accomplish this.

So, I would appreciate very much if someone out there can provide me with some small examples. I am looking at the docs but getting confused.

Thanks for your help, it's much appreciated,

-- Gopal

RE: Newbie needs help

2005-04-05 14:48

Ok, folks ... I know and understand that I have been looking at solutions in this forum and also the /demo/examples dir after I have downloaded the zip file. Looks good so far.

I have also downloaded ireport and designed my report template.

The only thing remaining to do is to integrate the template into my code.

I think I can load the compiled report as follows:

JRloader.loadobject(filename);