JasperReports Library 7.0 is now available ×

Image names in HTML export

By: Luc Feys - telenko28

Image names in HTML export

2005-03-21 05:14

I've been using Jasper reports for a few months now and I am really impressed with its ease of use, flexibility and functionality.

The only thing I keep feeling uncomfortable with is the location of images when using the HTML export to build a web page in a J2EE application.

Altough I think the use of an IMAGE_MAP in the user's session is a very clean solution to this problem, I feel it seriously lacks scaleability. If you have several images in a report the size of a user's session really explodes. I have an average session size of 5 to 10MB per user. This means my website will break down if I have up to 50 concurrent users who all use chart reports with 10+ images in each report (I only have 512MB available, which in my opinion should be sufficient for the type of application and expected user load of this particular web app).

On the other hand, putting the images in a directory on the server has several drawbacks too. First of all it will be slower than the IMAGE_MAP solution. Second, you need a place to store the images which might be a problem if you can only deploy compressed .ear files. Third (and biggest) problem: you need to have a way to distinguish between the images from different users or even different reports from 1 user.