JasperReports Library 7.0 is now available ×

Empty main report with subreports

checimovic

I have around a dozen subreports each consisting of a complex SQL query. They all work fine. I want to display them one after the other in an empty main report, which will simply act as a container for them. When I place the subreports in the detail band of the main report, they don't show up. When I put them into the column header band, they do show up (once I set the "AllSectionsNoDetail" property).

Is it okay to place all the subreports in the column header band? Why don't they show up in the detail band?

Sorry for the silly questions, but I'm pretty new to iReport.

Thanks,

Chris

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think I figured it out...if I give the main report a bogus query (select * from sometable) and add no fields to the detail section, I can put the subreports in there and they print sequentially, without acting as detail reports. What a hack, though. It would be nice if whatever was put into the detail band of the main report would just print regardless of whether or not the detail band has a query attached to it.

I think I figured it out...if I give the main report a bogus query (select * from sometable) and add no fields to the detail section, I can put the subreports in there and they print sequentially, without acting as detail reports. What a hack, though. It would be nice if whatever was put into the detail band of the main report would just print regardless of whether or not the detail band has a query attached to it.

Well I guess you should think about another solution than passing a dummy query to your main report...