Changes to the Jaspersoft community edition download ×

I am new to BI and looking at JasperSoft server 5.6.1 commercial edition.  Our users want to be able to create ad-hoc reports from an oracle data sources. I have to give a short demo of the web UI for designing a simple report. My question is a somewhat philosophical one: What are the general advantages of creating a report against a view as the datasource as opposed to other BI products where the report is designed directly against the relational datasource?

So far I like what I see with the Jasper server product, but I fear that my audience for the demo may be turned off by the idea of first having to design an ad-hoc view before they can design a report.  As a java developer I can appreciate that the view is a layer of abstraction between the report and the domain, but fear the users will not see things that way. (they are more familiar with the, let's call it..."Snowflake Reports" product where they just point the designer tool at the datasource and go).

Any suggestions for how to convince a data-savvy but non-technical crowd that creating the view first is a good thing?

Advice on this appreciated in advance.

-bill

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I think you're getting confused with terminology. In JasperReports Server, it's create a Domain and then Adhoc View. Adhoc Views are interactive reports. An user may opt to generate Adhoc Report from an Adhoc View but this isn't really necessary.

An user may also opt to create a Report using Jaspersoft Studio - this does't require creation of an Adhoc View.

I think what's you're describing as a "view" is a "Domain" in JasperReports Server terminology. Data abstraction and security is a good thing and it's another few checks on features comparision list, but I've found most users do this in their backend application, database, esb, etc. rather than on BI server.