We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Subreport Not Appearing Version 0.5.0

2005 IR Help

By: steveT - stevetucknott

Subreport Not Appearing Version 0.5.0

2005-05-30 09:41

I am a newbie and have a problem with getting subreports to work.

I have viewed the 'subreport' tutorial and tried to copy what it says, but the subreport 'does not appear'.

I have added a TITLE to the subreport to see if that appears - just in case the parameter passed from the master was wrong and no actual data was being read - but even the title doesn't show.

If however, I change the parameter definition in the detail from an Integer to Long, then I get a casting error, so it does seem that the detail is being started

Also, when I set up the parameter in the detail, the tutorial said use ${paramName} rather than $P{paramName} - is that correct? Using ${paramName} causes an error when running the detail in standalone mode. - although it does compile ok.

As an side, the tutorial also implies that you can click on the open file name on the left and that automatically opens the correct designer - that doesn't work with my installation. I have to minimise the master, maximise the detail in the designer window (and vice versa) to activate the correct file.

I would post the jrxmls but I cant see how you attach files!

By: Giulio Toffoli - gt78

RE: Subreport Not Appearing Version 0.5.0

2005-05-30 12:38

$() is not a correct syntax, use $P{} instead.

be sure the band where the subreport is printed in, is visible (i,e, placing a coloured rectangle)

Giulio

2005-05-30 23:44

Giulio,

I had tried both ${} and $P{} before, but I tried again this morning. Still no Report. I have put static texts in the master summary/footer bands and all of those appear (apart from the page footer!).

I have also put the passed record number in the master detail band above the subreport - that appears ok - so the value of the parameter is good when it is passed to the subreport.