We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Comparison of diff types of dates

noude

Hello,

I'm a newbie in Ireports and I don't know how to convert a string in a date format, in a report I have two colums: DATE1 and DATE2

I have to compare them and have the difference of time between them.

DATE1 == 2009-05-03

DATE2 == 2010-06-12T20:17:35+02:00

But DATE1 and DATE2 or in a string format ! :-/ How can I do this please ?

Thanks for help !

Post Edited by noude at 09/29/2010 09:52

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi there. The simplest ways is, go to DATE2 and DATE1 textfields. Under text field properties click on pattern and select your desirable format, in your case it must be yyyy/mm/dd HH:mm.ss before that set your expression class of your both date(date1 and date2) text fields to java.util.date and then update your sql query using following.
select,
------
TIME_FORMAT(TIMEDIFF(date2,date1),'%H:%i:%S')as execute_time
from ------------
and see whether it works. This is what I can suggest after reading your problem as i am not sure in what exactly fromat you want to display your result. All the best.

Post Edited by itpragmatic at 09/29/2010 13:42

Oooooh thanks for you answer !

But, it's not a SQL request, it's like a .csv file with colums, so I have columns DATE1 and DATE2.

And they are in a string format, and I want them in a date format.

I selected field pattern as you said but it's don't work sorry !

I really don't know how to change them in a date format =( =( =(

Ok so you must have been trying to execute your application within a java file to ireport, right? If this is true then you have to use SimpledateFormat in your program and also need to parse it. Don't forget to include import java.text.DateFormat;

import java.text.SimpleDateFormat;

import java.text.ParseException;

import java.util.Date;