We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Multiple queries in one Report

2004 IR Help

By: laj lal - lajslal

Multiple queries in one Report

2004-07-26 23:28

Is it possible to create a single report with multiple queries? For example, display a table which is the result of Query1 on Table1 in the database, followed by another table which is the result of Query2 on Table2.

I am new to iReport, and therefore the concept of bands and groups is slightly confusing and is leading me to believe that the above scenario is not possible with iReport. Am I wrong? Could you use subreports to do it? If so, how?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

By: olivier849 - olivier849

RE: Multiple queries in one Report

2004-07-27 00:35

yes it's possible using subreports, you just pass the connection to the subreport wich have it's own query to run.

I hope that helps...

2004-07-27 01:01

What if there IS no connection? Basically, two completely unrelated tables generated from two separate queries.

Suppose I have two reports, named Report1 and Report2. Report1 generates a tabular report, and for argument's sake let's say the query is "select * from table1". And Report2 does a similar thing, with "select * from table2".

Now suppose I create a master report, named ReportMaster. I want ReportMaster to contain the tables generated in Report1 and Report2, one after the other. But I don't see that possible with the Band system that JasperReports seems to use, since both Report1 and Report2 use the ColumnHeader band and Detail band, and therefore I don't know how to use subreports in such a way that I can show them both in this one report.

I hope that makes my situation clearer. Any ideas? Thanks again for any help.

By: Mark Rhodes - mrhodes2

2004-07-27 09:52