We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

subreport and XML source

pw_inf

Hi

I have read many posts on previous iR. forum, but still I have problem with creating report with subreports: all based on the same xml file.

I don't have to create any "live relation" between report and subreports - I need only put particular subset from XML file in subreport and place title field in report.

It doesn't work regardless of choosen connection type - I getting blank space in subreport place (subreport run as standalone working good).

I messed with different querries for report and subreport, and with one querry defined along with source definition. What should I do if i have working report and standalone warking subreport to merge this reports together?

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 2 years later...

Hi,

I am new to jasper reports. I am trying to use subreports with xml as datasource.

I specified the datasource for my subreport it worked. Thanks for your information.

I want to know, how to select a particular list of nodes in the datasource.

((net.sf.jasperreports.engine.data.JRXmlDataSource)$P{REPORT_DATA_SOURCE}).dataSource(/root/child[name=$P{ChildName}]/info)

I tried this but this didn't help me. In the subReport I have specified my xpath directory as (/root/child[name=$P{ChildName}]/info

I have passed the parameter ChildName. Here is my sample xml for your understanding. Please let me know how to get this subreprot.

<root>

<child>

<name>TEST</name>

<info>1</info>

<info>2</info>

<info>3</info>

</child>

</root>

• 1 year later...

I am cotinuing this thread as I have similar issue...any help is appreciated...I am new to jasper report....

I am creating a master report pointing to a XML datasource and sub report pointing to the Same datasource. When I run the report I get the following error. How do I connect the sub report to a XML datasource.