Changes to the Jaspersoft community edition download ×

Error Type Mismatch: cannot convert from String to boolean

DawnW

Hello All,

I am a newbie to Jaspersoft Studio. I am on version 6.11. I am trying to build a document in the IDE and am getting an error "Error Type Mismatch: cannot convert from string to boolean. This is a variable (for zip code) and is a string. My code in the expression editor of the variable reads:

(LEN(LTRIM($F{COLUMN_7} ) )  > 5)  ? ($F{COLUMN_7}.substring(6,4).equals("0000")) : ( ($F{COLUMN_7}.substring(0,5) ? ($F{COLUMN_7}.substring(0,5) + "-" + $F{COLUMN_7}.substring(6,4)) : $F{COLUMN_7}.substring(0,5))) )

I am trying to replicate the code from Crystal reports into Jaspersoft Studio.

Crystal Reports Code:

if Length (TrimLeft ({cvl_crt_ordrd_schl_ntc.expression:7})) > 5
then
    if Right ({cvl_crt_ordrd_schl_ntc.expression:7}, 4) = "0000"
    then
        Left ({cvl_crt_ordrd_schl_ntc.expression:7}, 5)
    else
        Left({cvl_crt_ordrd_schl_ntc.expression:7}, 5) + "-" + 
        Right ({cvl_crt_ordrd_schl_ntc.expression:7}, 4)
else
    Left({cvl_crt_ordrd_schl_ntc.expression:7},5);

Can anyone please guide me to the issue. Expression 7 is also a string. Thanks in advance. Sorry if I missed including something.

Dawn

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Based on the original code, the corresponding Java logic is as follows:

($F{COLUMN_7}.trim().length()>5?

("0000".equals($F{COLUMN_7}.substring($F{COLUMN_7}.length()-4 ))?

$F{COLUMN_7}.trim().substring( 0,5 )

:$F{COLUMN_7}.trim().substring( 0,5 )+"-"+$F{COLUMN_7}.substring($F{COLUMN_7}.length()-4))

:$F{COLUMN_7}.trim())

Explanation of the above code refactoring