We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×
  • Q3 2016 Featured Community Member: Petter Friberg

ernestoo

[toc on_off::hide=1]

Every Quarter we feature a special community member who has gone above and beyond with their contributions to the Jaspersoft community and products. For the third quarter of 2016, the award goes to the very deserving, Mr. Petter Friberg. Petter is a very active member of the Stack Overflow community giving high quality help to lots of people who need it, primarily with JasperReports. Learn more about Petter in an interview below!q32016-Petter-Friberg.png.ee68471a9acc3d008485291f17c360f8.png

Interview with Petter Friberg

Tell us a little about yourself, your background and how you came to be a user of Jasper Reports

I was born in Sweden, near the Arctic Circle where I studied Industrial Engineering. During my year abroad on Erasmus in the Netherlands I found a fantastic girl from Italy so I packed my stuff and headed towards the sun. Wife, house, children, cats, dogs, Volvo and a lawn mower so now I am stuck under it! 

My first job in Italy was designing packing machines, but I got bored with mechanical stuff that can break and started my own software firm, Jdd Software with a great programmer and friend.

One of our first contracts was to develop front-end applications in Java for the banking sector and with it personal financial planning reports. To develop these reports we decided to use JasperReports for the following reasons:

Developed in Java, perfect integration in any Java project. 
    Open-source, you have access to source code, so you can easily understand what is going on and override or extend if you need something special
    xml file structure, perfect to use on any versioning system
    Integrated with other open source libraries to create pdfs, charts, barcodes etc.