JasperReports Library 7.0 is now available ×

JasperServer and JNDI datasource

By: Damian Sobieralski - dsobiera

JasperServer and JNDI datasource

2006-07-07 12:47

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to post this in. If not, if someone could politely redirect me I'd be very appreciative.

I'm fairly new to the whole Jasper suite although I find it very very cool so far. I'll go over the procedure that I am using and hope someone can assist me in where I am going wrong.

I am using Ireport 1.2.4 to create my report. I am using a Hibernate resource. I have a jar file in the lib/ directory with the mappings and POJOs and I have a hibernate.hbm.xml in the ireport directory. All goes well and iReport runs my HQL and returns results - sweet!

Then I have a JasperServer install via JBoss. I setup a JNDI Hibernate datasource for my Jboss installation via a .har file (same eclipse project I used to generate the jar file for iReport jsut a different packaging scheme). When I write a servlet that uses this datasource all works well so I know the datasource (.har file and accompanying mysql-ds.xml) is set up correctly.

So then I am trying to have my report I created in IReport work with JapserServer. Me thinks I am just doing something silly here. Please educate me! I admit ignorance.

I create a new folder in JapserServer. I then create a new datasource from the JasperServer administration page. I select JNDI datasouce and press next. I give it a name. I assume both the name and label are arbitrary? So I call both datawarehouseDS. Now here is where is gets tricky. On the service name I try to enter the JNDI that I set up via the Jboss .har. So I try to type java:/DataWarehouseStudentDS (which is what Jboss has it bound to and says so in the stdout.log file). When I click "Save" I get an error that says "JNDI Name contains invalid characters". If I remove the "/" between the java: and the DataWarehouseStudentDS it seems to accept it.