Two subreports in detail

By: Tché­ tche

Two subreports in detail

2006-02-01 02:20

I´ve read some threads that seemed to be like this one, but to ensure the success of my quest I will go straight to the point - to my point!

I have a master report, let´s say about an order, and two subreports, let´s say one for the items and other one for the terms of payment. The subreports are tiled horizontally, occupying the whole detail band. Now imagine that both subreports are independent, what means one can requires two pages and the other five. The expected behavior is that both start in the first page, with no overlapping, and go to the end - the end determined by the largest one. The space occupyed by the smallest one must be blank in the last pages. This is what I want!

Well, well, well. The truth is that the superior subreport grows till the end of the detail band, takes the enough number of pages to complete and then the second one starts. Fighting a lot against my report designer - iReport - gets me to have the second one overlapping the first one, that insists on taking the whole detail band for itself.

Does anyone have any iddeas?

By: C-Box - c-box

RE: Two subreports in detail

2006-02-01 06:15

Have you read some of my postings concerning that topic... I remember having answered this kind of question about ten times.....!??!?

but anyway... use dummygroups and put both reports in its own dummygroupheader. so you are for sure, that they won't overlap (so I do successfully with up to 10 subreports)!!!

hth

C-Box

2006-02-01 09:29

I must have read. But my tests with dummy groups didn´t work! Would I be doing something wrong? Is there any possibility of you send me a jrxml file so I could get the details?

In my tests, the superior group header (imagine I have two) grows till the end of the detail band. It doesn´t respect the defined height.

Thank you so far!

;^)

2006-02-01 13:38