JasperReports Library 7.0 is now available ×

Multiple Pages

2005 IR Help

By: harvey - harveybernstein

Multiple Pages

2004-03-11 01:19

Hello

I'm new to Jasper and have now read the Ultimate Guide and looked at the samples.

I would like to print a report about nursing homes. The report will contain about 5 pages but I would like to control the position of the page breaks.

I belive I can do this with either sub-reports or by using the group feature. Would anybody be willing to share some sample code for me to look at?

Thanks in advance

Harvey

hb@bsemple.com

By: David Lim - aberrant80

RE: Multiple Pages

2004-03-11 01:22

I have no experience with page breaks, but you might want to do a search on that topic on this forum and the open discussion forum. I remember that others have asked about page breaks too.

2004-03-11 05:05

thanks for your help. I've had a look through the forums but i haven't been able to get to grips with how to set this up.

I've created one group and spilt the content of the report between the Group Header and the Detail section.

When i first ran the report the group header was printed once on a seperate page and then the content in the detail group was printed multiple times.

I then added $V{REPORT_COUNT} to the group and now both sections are printin on the same page.

I would like to print 5 seperate pages. If anybody has any code they wouldn't mind sharing I would very much appreicate it

Thanks in advance

Harvey

hb@bsemple.com

By: Carlos Costa e Silva - carloscs

2004-03-11 10:32

What do you mean by adding $V{REPORT_COUNT} ?

Here is an example:

<group name="NewPageGroup" isStartNewPage="true" isResetPageNumber="true" isReprintHeaderOnEachPage="true">

<groupExpression>

[put here the expression that decides when the report should create a new page]

</groupExpression>

</group>

example expression:

-> break wheneve any of the fields change.

$F{field1} + $F{field2} + ... + $F{fieldn}