We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Selecting parameter from values of a SQL Query

brommycanary

Hi,

I hope I am posting this in the correct place.

I'm a relative newbie to Jasper Reports having worked with both Crystal and SSRS in the past, and I am having some issue getting my head around a report. I am using iReport Designer 4.5.1 to design the report.

I need to produce a report that selects a set of values from a database table based on a company. I would like the user to be able to select the name of the company from a list of available companies rather than having to remember and type in the company's unique database ID number. I can't work out how to confgure the report to load a list of the customers from the database and use this list in the parameter prompt.

So, in short, how do I create a parameter prompt that contains a drop-down list of values that are loaded from the database and then use the value selected from that drop-down list to run the SQL query in the report itself?

Thanks for any help or advice you can offer!

Chris.

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

This is a very important technique to know, in my opinion.

1. In your report, create a new parameter called $P{companyId} if you are only going to allow them to select a single company, but just so I can show you how to handle supporting a LIST, let's call the parameter $P{companyList}, and make the data type of that list be java.util.List.

2. In the WHERE part of your query, you now want to add either AND CompanyTable.Id=$P{companyId}, or if you are using a list, you use the following special JasperSoft syntax:  $X{ IN, CompanyTable.Id, companyList }  The word "IN" is a keyword for the $X{} syntax and should not be surrounded by quotation marks, the second argument is the value you are trying to see if it's in a list or not, and the third value is understood to always be a parameter, so you don't include the $P{} syntax.