We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

JsonDataSource with JSON as Text (String)

millernegro

Hello, im new with jasper and ireport, but so far I could get a report exported to PDF using JsonDataSource coming from a file with JSON data in it.

Now what im tryying to do is get the same report filled with Json data coming as a String, is there any example or pointers to help me achieve this ?

In particular, I have a PHP application working, and using JavaBridge i get to connect jasper to it using JDBC or XML, I have all my querys working in the PHP application, what im trying to get is using the results of the PHP queries (that pop up as Json Strings) as input for the report, so i dont have to write my whole queries twice (one for reports and the same ones to display on the Web).

Thanks

• 4 weeks later...
  • Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey!

I'm not able to add a JSON datasource. It accepts the JSON file as a source and the Test Connection icon says its successful,

but when I try to write a JSON query it tells me to activate a jdbc connection..

What'd you do?

P.S. I've added a couple of snapshots.Could you tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Post Edited by bookworm at 03/12/2012 06:33

whats an example of the JSOnData you will use ?

basically you add the fields and ignora that message, for example a json:

{records:[{id:int, description:string},{id:int, description:string},.........,{id:int, description:string}]}

in the "report query" you will add the property that contains the data (above example "record")

then manually go to the FIELDS option in the tree selector and add the fields ("id" and "description" in the above example, with the correct datatypes and description)

then just drag and drop those fields into the report and generate sample

Thanks for the reply millernegro.

I've attached the json sample that I'm using in the code section.