We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Why the table element keeps repeating on the report?

saman0suke

I'm just learning how to use the table element, since the way I create tables it's really hard (drawing lines on the field's corners) I think it's a good tool, but I don't know why, when the total of records finishes to be printed, it starts again on the report!! I've been trying to find some information about tables on the web but there's no accurate or detailed info, any help? or if you need a better way to put the data into a table I would appreciate it, thanks!!

UPDATE: The table it's on the DETAIL band, where I intend to use it, but looking on one thread I found, it says that it is intented to be used only on SUMMARY band, why I cannot use it on DETAIL band? I suppose that SUMMARY band is only for summarized data, final results, etc, but this is 1 of 4 tables I need to present with different info, thanks!

Post Edited by saman0suke at 01/14/2011 04:46

Post Edited by saman0suke at 01/14/2011 04:56

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

First, I should state that I'm using V 3.7.1 Professional, so I don't actually have tables yet, but your problem would be the same if you were using a chart, a crosstab, etc.:  they're meant to summarize MULTIPLE rows of detail that come back from your query, not the information about a SINGLE returned row, which is typically what you work with in a detail band.  So if you're expecting to output FOUR tables, how is the information in these tables related?  Here are a few solutions, depending on the answer to that question: