We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

sum() Function in relation to other influences like a date.

adiboing

Hello people,

I started with iReport 3.7.6 since a few days now. I have never used iReport before and now I would like to try something with sum().

But honestly I don't really know how to use the sum()-function.
I have my FIELD called "merit" and a FIELD called "logdate". So how is it possible to sum all entrys of "merit" from the DB between the "logdate" 01. Jan and the 30. Jan?

And when I sum all my "merit" and click on PREVIEW it just sums all merits of the single page but not form all pages together.

Thanks for your attention.
Adi

Post Edited by adiboing at 12/01/2010 14:26

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hard to tell without seeing the jrxml what might be wrong, but I'll make a few guesses.  I've also pasted below the jrxml of a simple report that successfully selects records based on a date field being within a range specified by two parameters and maintains a sum variable that is good for the whole report and appears in the summary.  I've attached sample output when I use Mar 1, 2010 and May 31, 2010 as the date range.  Naturally, my SQL command has an artificial section in it where the data is hardcoded instead of coming from an actual data source, but that should allow you to open my jrxml in iReport and look at some of the techniques used so you can apply them to your situation.

Here are my some things I would check in yours: