We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

XML + iReport newbie question

valfer

Ok, I am a newbie trying to build a XML report with the following XML data source:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<MyFile>
    <Accounts>
        <Account>
            <Ac_Detail>
                    <Op No="1" Amount="100,00" Date="22/1/2010" Cat="25" SubCat="1"/>
                    <Op No="2" Amount="150,00" Date="25/1/2010" Cat="26" SubCat="2"/>
                    <Op No="3" Amount="200,00" Date="31/1/2010" Cat="25" SubCat="2"/>
             </Ac_Detail>
        </Account>
    </Accounts>
    <Category>
          <Cat_Detail>
            <Category No="25" Name="Payment">
                        <SubCategory No="1" Name="Supplier 1"/>
                         <SubCategory No="2" Name="Supplier 2"/>
            </Category>
               <Category No="26" Name="Transfer">
                    <SubCategory No="1" Name="Supplier 3"/>
                     <SubCategory No="2" Name="Supplier 4"/>
            </Category>
         </Cat_Detail>
    </Category>
</MyFile>

I' ve followed this tutorial jasperforge.org/website/ireportwebsite/IR%20Website/ir_xml_datasources.html but I want my report to have the following fields: Amount, Date and the Name in the subcategory which as you can see comes from the corresponding Cat and SubCat, so that I can get something like this:

Amount   Date                 Name

100,00    22/01/2010     Supplier 1

150,00    25/01/2010     Supplier 3

200,00    31/01/2010     Supplier 2

I started with a new blank report, setup a datasource pointing to my XML file. Then I went to the Query Editor and set the Query language as XPath and right clicked on the Op node and selected "set record node (generate xPath)", then selected "add node as fields" for the Amount and  Date. So far so good.