We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Problem adding a subreport to a report

stig

Hello,

I am a complete newbie not only with regard to iReport but with Java programming and databases in general.

I have successfully created some simple reports based on a JRDataSourceProvider connection.

At this point, i am trying to include a subreport in a simple report but without any luck.

Procedure:

I create the master report (report A) which extracts fields from a single model via the JRDataSourceProvider connection. The master report contains a startdate field, an employee field and a currentliftedweight field. The info is grouped by employee.

I create a report (report B) which extracts fields from another model via the same connection. The report contains an employee maxallowedweight field.

Separately, I can run the two reports successfully. But when I try to add the subreport (report B) to the master (report B) and feed info to/from the subreport my luck seems to run out.

What I would like to happen is this:

The employee field from the master report should be fed to the subreport and thus determine which employee's value the subreport should show.

So the finished report should have 4 fields and a variable and look something like this (grouped by employee):

Startdate - employee - currentliftedweight - maxallowedweight - [variable showing the difference btw current and max weights]

I hope someone can help me out with some pointers. Please feel free to ask if you need info - I know that I am probably not easy to understand since I have absolutely no experience in these programming areas...

Thanks,

stig

Post Edited by stig at 11/06/2009 10:37

Post Edited by stig at 11/06/2009 10:38

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

stig
Wrote:

The employee field from the master report should be fed to the subreport and thus determine which employee's value the subreport should show.