We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Pass value from SubReport to Main Report and again back to another Sub Report using Shared Variable

meeza4u

Hi

I am designing my report using iReport4.5.  I am new to Jasper Reports...

1. My main report displays the detailed transaction

2. First Sub Report say "SUMMARY_RPT" displays the summary by category

3. Second Sub Report say "PARAMETER_RPT" displays the input parameter's used

Here is the requirement.

In my second sub report PARAMETER_RPT I have a field that will give me a title value lets say the Field Name is "MY_TITLE" and the value is "THIS IS MY TITLE" as the output of my query.

How do I pass this MY_TITLE from the second sub report to the main report and would like to display the value in my first sub report SUMMARY_RPT

Or is there a way that I can pass the MY_TITLE directly from my Second Sub report to my First Sub Report using Shared Variable...

if so could you please give me a step by step instruction with what and how to do.. Please help...

Thanks

Meeza

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You cannot go backwards with the sharing. If the first subreport literally comes first on the report then it is evaluated prior to the second subreport. If there is a reason it is first and can't be moved after the second then your only real option is to provide another subreport before the first that is only used to run the same query as the second and is blank otherwise. Then you can pass the values from the new subreport to the main and then into the previously labeled first subreport. The second will only be used to display the data that was also queried in the new subreport.

Agree with theclosh.  But, I'm not sure we're diagnosing the real problem here.