Changes to the Jaspersoft community edition download ×

iReport Install Problem: "Cannot find Java.exe"

tomking23

Hi Everyone -

I'm new to iReport... I have a new Windows 7 PC  with very few programs installed (except MS Office 2007, Visual Studio 2008 and Visual Foxpro 9.2 )machine... I installed the latest build of iReport (Windows stand-alone version).

Everything appeared to install correctly ... however.. when I attempted to run the program, I get the following error:

"Cannot find java exe."

"Neither (null)\jre\bin\java.exe nor (null)\vin\java.exe exists"

My question is:  Even though I installed the "stand-alone" version ... do I have-to install additional files? 

If so... which, and where can I find them?

Thanks for any help you can give me!

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Thank you very much for your response...

I had to "ADD" the Environmental variable... to the system properties... as it was not in the list at all ... however... nothing happened...

When I try to run iReport... I still get the "Cannot find Java.exe..." error.

Moreover... I don't even have the directory referenced in the environmental variable you suggested I add... iReport didn't install that directory (see attached picture of my directory) ...

Do I need to install JasperServer and/or JasperReports, in addition to iReport... to get the necessary support files to run iReport?

Thanks again ... !

Post Edited by tomking23 at 02/15/2010 03:24

• 4 months later...
  • 11 months later...
  • 5 months later...

I'm using win 7 64bit. I installed iReport 4.5 (release on today - 8 Dec 2011) & it brings to me the same result.
As what I see:/tools/fckeditor/editor/images/smiley/msn/shades_smile.gif

+Reason: