We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

dynamic group expression

domurtag

Hi,

I'm new to Jasper reports, so please be gentle ;)

I've written a JDBC report which has a group expression, but I want the actual column that is used to perform the grouping to be 'dynamic'. In other words, sometimes the data will be grouped by city, sometimes by user, etc.

In order to achieve this I obviously need a report variable which is set to the name of the grouping column. Presumably I also need to refer to this variable in and also in the 'order by' clause of the SQL to ensure that all rows from the same group are consecutive?

Am I on the right track here, and if so, are they any examples of such 'dynamically grouped' reports available?

Thanks in advance,
Tony

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

domurtag wrote:

In order to achieve this I obviously need a report variable which is set to the name of the grouping column. Presumably I also need to refer to this variable in and also in the 'order by' clause of the SQL to ensure that all rows from the same group are consecutive?

That's exactly what you need to do. I'm not aware of any sample that illustrates this, however what you would need to do is something like

Code:

Note that the previous sample assumes that the SQL column names exactly match report field names.

HTH,
Lucian

I finally had an opportunity to try out your suggestion for performing the 'dynamic grouping'. Unfortunately, it doesn't appear to work - all the rows are shown in the same group. Regarding the following section:

Code:
$P{REPORT_SCRIPTLET}.getFieldValue($P{OrderColumn})            "group of " + $P{REPORT_SCRIPTLET}.getFieldValue($P{OrderColumn})      [/code]			

The problem would appear to be in the because if I replace what's shown above with:

Code:
$F{partner}[/code]