We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

JasperReports without JDBC?

2005 IR Help

By: Carsten Hintz - poldi42

JasperReports without JDBC?

2004-05-27 02:15

hi all.

I am new to Jasper, so bear with me.

I am looking for a general purpose reporting tool to use in projects without a traditional RDBMS. thus I have no JDBC access to the data.

is there a way to use Jasper by providing for example an interface like TableModel to the engine? another possibility would be to export my data to XML - would this be a valid data source?

is this (working on non-JDBC data) possible at all?

any suggestions on where to start reading about this? looking quickly over the website I found no example for my use case.

any help is greatly appreciated.

kind regards,

Carsten

By: C-Box - c-box

RE: JasperReports without JDBC?

2004-05-27 04:07

Take a look at the CustomDataSource-Sample provided with JasperReport full project-release...

doesn't it fit your requirements?

hth

C-Box

By: Carsten Hintz - poldi42

2004-05-27 04:55

I am still downloading, so I have not yet tried the samples.

but reading the API-doc, I see that JRBeanArrayDataSource, JRBeanCollectionDataSource, JREmptyDataSource, JRMapArrayDataSource, JRMapCollectionDataSource, JRResultSetDataSource, JRTableModelDataSource are already available as viable alternatives to a db connection in JasperManager.fillReport(...). this seems to be great.

now if I may, 2 more questiones:

- do you know wheather the different designer-UIs for Jasper that are available work on base of the JRDataSource interface? I am asking because (again, judging only from websites) it seems as if there are JDBC properties needed at design time (probably to get some metadata).

- is there anybody around that has experience with the combination of JasperReports and Prevayler?

thanks for your answer.

kind regards,

Carsten

By: Mathias Drischmann - mathiasd

2004-05-28 08:41