We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

is jasperReport suitable for my needs

By: Mairead Fagan - peggynelly

is jasperReport suitable for my needs

2002-08-08 02:27

Hi

I have been given the task of finding a reporting tool suitable for the project we are working on at the moment.The project uses EJBs,Oracle db and will be running on Linex.It is a web bades project that will rosrer nurses in a hospital setting.So the reporting tool will e.g list the nurses tht worked on a particular ward on a given date. etc.

Can anyone tell me is this tool suitable.As i am a junior programmer my knowledge is limited.

Thank u

Mairead

By: Muralidhar bp - pmurli

RE: is jasperReport suitable for my needs

2003-03-02 21:52

Hi,

Jasper is a very power tool which u can use it for your web applications.

It is very flexible tool, where in u can generate reports in html, pdf, xl.........

Rgds

Murli

By: Rajan Karunakaran - rkaran

2003-03-02 23:00

Unless you specifically want to create pdf, xls, csv, etc. you will not necessarily need JasperReports. In the EJB setting, Apache Cocoon is a pretty good framework for producing reports using XML. Also, it might be worthwhile looking into Oracle's XSU (XML SQL Utility) to retrieve your query result set from the Oracle database. This xml result set can then be transformed into various formats and file types, including pdf, xls, csv, etc. Of course this route may not necessarily require the use of JasperReports.

I find JasperReports to be pretty good if you aren't using Cocoon or an EJB framework. Also the learning curve is not too bad. Using cocoon, you would definitely have to learn how to create style sheets to transform XML resultsets into other forms. If you are new to XML, this can be a particularly painful experience, especially if you are in a crunch for time.