We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

error while calling pl/sql function from query

chaktifarid
Go to solution Solved by jgust,

Hello, I'm new to Jasper.

I am trying to call a pl/sql function from the query but i am getting the following error: missing 'FROM' at '(' .

My query is something like:

select a, my_function(p1,p2), b , DECODE(C, '1', 'M.', '2', 'Mme') from tab1,tab2 where tab1.id = tab2.id 

Any idea?

• Like 1

This is a SQL query issue that has nothing to do with our product. You need to use joins to lift data from multiple tables, something like

select t1.a, my_function(t1.p1,t2.p2), t2.b, DECODE(t1.C, '1', 'M.', '2', 'Mme')from tab1 t1inner join tab2 t2 on t1.id = t2.id[/code]

Please take some SQL training classes (and Java classes) to get yourself familiar with the technology to use our product effectively. You may find this YouTube video useful and helpful:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rocjHUQf5n0

Good luck and happy coding. :)

• Like 1

I suspect your issue is that p1 and p2 are parameters and do not come from tab1 or tab2. 

If that is the case then you just need to correct the SQL so that Jasper understands. 
Updated SQL below makes the assumption of where the data is coming from.  You should always use aliases for better readability.

select t1.a                                as Awesome     , my_function($P{p1},$P{p2})          as Super_Function     , t2.b                                as Bodacious     , DECODE(t1.C, '1', 'M.', '2', 'Mme') as Case_is_BetterFROM tab1 t1INNER JOIN tab2 t2 ON t1.id = t2.id[/code]

• Solution

Thank you for the clarification.

I was able to recreate the issue by setting the language to SQL and using a custom function in the query.

The solution was to change the language to PLSQL.  Once I did that I was able to read the fields.

• Like 1

• 1 year later...