We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

How to create a dynamic table from JRTableModelDataSource

OreoCookie

Hi everyone,
I'm really new to Jasper and I'm on a deadline, I would appreciate any help or ideas.
I'm using JasperReports 6.16.0 to build and design a template for reports I need to generate from my application.
I've been trying to create a report template with a table that would be dynamic and change for each report.
Basically, my goal is to create reports on different objects every time using the same template, so I want to save the 'columns' (object's fields' names) and the data as string arrays.
I've tried many things and non has worked.
For now, I'm using a dummy code to see if something like that could possibly work.
I've created a class that extends JRTableModelDataSource that basically has two fields
    private String[] columns;
    private String[][] data;
In my java code, I create a table and sent it as a parameter

String[] data1 = {"45315", "fraud", "143.65", "normal"};            String[] data2 = {"43534165", "fraud", "23167.56", "critical"};            String[] data3 = {"65876", "check", "855", "normal"};            String[] data4 = {"09866", "fraud", "9657", "high"};            String[][] data = new String[][] {data1, data2, data3,data4};            String[] columns = new String[] {"id","type","amount","severity"};            TableModel table = new DefaultTableModel(data, columns);            TableDatasource myTable = new TableDatasource(table); //this class extends JRTableModelDataSource            myTable.setColumns(columns);            myTable.setData(data);                        params.put("MyTable", myTable);[/code]

I was able to generate a table with data when creating fields calling specifically to those columns, but the names of the columns and the number of columns can be changed
I need something that could maybe loop over the array and build the table on its own.