We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

[SOLVED] Recommandation about the way to integrate Jasper Reports

Koyyote

Hello,

I'm new to Jasper Reports and I would like to ask for some recommandations.

I used JasperSoft Stdio to design a report using an XML data source.

The XML file I used to create my Data Adapter is simply a sample file from which I defined the fields. However the target is that several users of a business application will input batches of data, and at th end of each batch, an XMLfile will be produced.

What I would like to send the XML to Jasper Reports and  instruct it to generate the report. Ideally, I would like to send the data via HTTP (using curl or something similar, and get my PDF report back as a response). The goal is to produce the report immediately when the XML file is produced, ant automatize the whole process.

What would be your recommandation to achieve this , given that the business application is an old fashion app and cannot integrate Java libraries, and that, in my context, developping an intermediary layer in Java is not an option. I may be able to develop an intermediary layer in Python only.

Thank you in advance for you precious help.

Best regards

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

In my opinion, just create a Python application, then import your PDF template design using Jasper report, transfer your data using parameters instead of fields and you will get the PDF as the result.

Firstly, design a template using Jasper Report Studio. You will get the jrxml file.

Secondly, for the import template to the Python application, I found this: https://pypi.org/project/pyreportjasper/