Changes to the Jaspersoft community edition download ×

parameter passing using PHP

By: os_boy - mojacko_man123

parameter passing using PHP

2005-06-16 01:51

hi all, im a newbie open source developer and i am trying PHP to pass parameters to a report i created using iReports. if this is possible can anyone please tell me how this works and how it can be done.thanks in advance!!!

By: Craig O'Shannessy - shanness

RE: parameter passing using PHP

2005-06-16 02:38

The standard way of passing USER SUPPLIED information via the web is HTML forms. There is plenty of information about this all over the web.

Are you using servlets, JSP or something else? You do know that JasperReports is a JAVA library don't you?

2005-06-16 19:23

yes i know that jasperreports is a library. i've tried the document on integrating jasperreports with PHP, but i encounter a CGI error...what's this all about?

2005-06-16 22:22

Well, for a start, what's your error? Details man!

How are you executing the Jasper library? Using a standalone Java program and CGI?? A servlet engine would simplify things, and would certainly scale better.

Craig

2005-06-16 22:51

this is the link to the document i've seen here,

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/forum.php?thread_id=1566148&forum_id=7912

i followed the steps and i get this error

"CGI Error

The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers. The headers it did return are:"

this is what i encounter...can u help me on this???

thanks!!!

2005-06-17 00:05

OK, well the first thing I would do is see what the output of the Java program is.

E.G. If you are following your example exactly, what does running "/usr/local/shelljasper/runJasperShell.sh

/var/www/sistemas/reports/test.xml" return when you run it directly from the command line? Post the output of running this command perhaps.

For example, if it does this, then you just haven't set it up properly.