Changes to the Jaspersoft community edition download ×

JasperReports used in a J2EE application

By: ziggy - zarthstar

JasperReports used in a J2EE application

2004-11-08 20:53

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to JasperReports and I'm looking for an example or use case where JasperReports is used in a J2EE web application to create a generic reporting engine.

The high-level requirements looks something like this:

1. Extensibility. The ability to add new reports with data coming from an RDBMS.

2. Create dynamic, ad hoc reports that are filterable by data valid to the report and entered by the report user

3. Integrate into an existing home-grown, struts-like (MVC) architecture using JSPs, Servlets and Plain old JavaBeans

4. Displayed using JSP/HTML

5. Exportable to XLS and PDF

Any info is greatly appreciated. If you know of any good books or articles that would be great.

Thanks,

Ziggy

By: Darren Hartford - binarymonk

RE: JasperReports used in a J2EE application

2004-11-16 05:44

Hi Ziggy,

I have a working JasperReport system running in J2EE/Jboss space, but it presently is app-specific.

I'm currently working on a generic JasperReport server (just started, short timeline) that the first iteration will be Tomcat only, and then eventually may extend to be a 'J2EE' compliant applicaiton and add in JMS support and some other items as-needed. Checking with 'da boss' if can open source.

If you need something right away, you can look at OpenReports at http://oreports.sf.net . It's GPL'd and I really didn't have luck accessing it from outside it's GUI (i.e. API/calling from another application).

-D

By: Edgar Dollin - edollin

2004-11-16 08:37

I have one also njmvcopensource on sourceforge.