JasperReports Library 7.0 is now available ×

How to access javabeans datasource in iReports?

burferd

I am pretty new to iReports, but I need to create several reports using Javabeans as the datasource.

I found this reference:

http://knol.google.com/k/jasper-reports-working-with-beans-and-sub-report

In this, the author mentions that he created a jar file of the classes and placed that jar file in the "lib" directory. After doing that, he was able to access the bean properties from within iReport.  This is where he lost me.

Can anyone fill me in on details of how I might access the classes of a NetBeans project in iReport 4.5.0 (or something similar).

I have both the stand-alone version and the NetBeans plugin, but have not been able to figure out how to access the bean properties in the iReport framework.

Thanks.

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi,

As the reference says, you need to add the jar with the bean classes to the lib directory. I understand you have two different options:

• For doing that in iReport, go to "Tools-> Options". Then select CLASSPATH tab and you can add the jar from here.
  • If you want to create the report in Netbeans using the iReport plugin is a little bit different. You have to go to "Tools->Options->iReport" and then select the CLASSPATH tab and add the needed jar.

Hope this helps.

Regards.

Thanks for the feedback.

With the Netbeans module, is there any way to have it reference my source code package, or do I still need to create a jar file for that package?

I have two packages that need to be accessed - one with the database references and the other with the bean wrappers that access the database references.  Would I  be able to add more than one jar file in the classpath?