We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

JRDataSource: Class does not return a datasource object

pawel.silberring

I am new with JasperStudio 6.0.3. I am trying to implement a custom JRDataSource. I have created a class:
public class JRTJasperReportTotals implements JRDataSource

This class implements the next() and the getFieldValue() methods and contains a method:
    public static JRDataSource getDataSource()
    {
        return new JRTJasperReportTotals();
    }

The Class is then packed into a .jar

When I create a new Data Adapter, this is how the Wizard looks like:
converted-file.png.0bd037fb84bdd7fd021174fdbdaa5034.png

Pressing Test gives me:

converted-file.png.ac81f2a1491f2eb6478b1868e75623bb.png

What am I doing wrong here? Thank you in advance for any hint!

• 4 months later...
  • Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Pawel, did you find a solution yet? I'm ahving exactly the same problem with Jaspersoft Studio, while iReport is accepting it most of the time. Pls contact me or post an answer here if you solved it! Thx a lot :)

I had to create the complete data source code within the Jaspersoft Studio environment.

I use the Reporter in a larger project. so I wanted to integrate it into the environment of the project, but that turned out to be difficult.

What I do now is a minimal interface within Jaspersoft and from there, I use objects, which were created in my project. Here is my code:

import pJasperReport.JRTJasperReportTotals;    // This is the link object to my project
import net.sf.jasperreports.engine.JRDataSource;
import net.sf.jasperreports.engine.JRException;
import net.sf.jasperreports.engine.JRField;

public class TotalsTable implements JRDataSource {

JRTJasperReportTotals JRTaJRTJasperReportTotals = null;
    String sTrace = "Init";

/**************************************************************/
    public Object getFieldValue(JRField arg0) throws JRException {