We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Calculating average of field

teamdebo

Hi, 

I am new to jasperserver and iReports, however I do know java pretty well.

I have a question which has been bugging me for a long time because I can't seem to figure it out and its so simple I should be able to find the answer.

I have a field:  fieldA it is a string

I want to calculate the average, min, max and median, but for now I just need to figure out one of those and the rest will be simple.

What I did was create a variable avgFieldA 

class: java.lang.Integer

initial value: java.lang.Integer.valueOf(0)

expression: java.lang.Integer.parseInt($F{fieldA })

then I display this variable with: $V{avgFieldA} but I keep getting the following error:

Code: