We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

How isForPrompting works?

apx1sharma

I'm new to Jasper reports.

Can anyone help me explaining how isForPrompting works? I have a Java program as below:

----------------------------------------------------------

jasperReport = JasperCompileManager.compileReport("sample_report.jrxml");

// filling report with data from data source
jasperPrint = JasperFillManager.fillReport(jasperReport,jasperParameter, connection);

// exporting process
JasperExportManager.exportReportToPdfFile(jasperPrint,"sample_report.pdf");

----------------------------------------------------------

The JRXML file contains a parameter as shown below:

<parameter name="Comments" class="java.lang.String" isForPrompting="true">
<parameterDescription>
<![CDATA[Please type here the report comments, if any]]>
</parameterDescription>
</parameter>

However while running my program, It never says or prompt for any run time parameter. When I click on report generated by Java program (that's a PDF file) it doesn't promt for any parameter.

I don't know what I'm missing here? I would like to know how this parameter can be used, specially how the program will throw a prompt to end user?

Post Edited by apx1sharma at 08/05/2010 04:08

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

I believe the forPrompting parameters are used for iReport and JasperServer so the user is forced to enter in data to dynamically run the report. When doing it programatically I think the expectation is on the programmer to add the parameters in. The API lacks comments on this variable so I cannot determine that, but based on what I've seen that is what I believe to be true.

Thanks for reply.

I too have observed, the IReport window prompt for input for parameter with "isForPrompting" attribute set to true. However in regular Java program (one shown above) i don't see that.