iReport Install Problem: "Cannot find Java.exe"

Hi Everyone -

I'm new to iReport... I have a new Windows 7 PC  with very few programs installed (except MS Office 2007, Visual Studio 2008 and Visual Foxpro 9.2 )machine... I installed the latest build of iReport (Windows stand-alone version).

Everything appeared to install correctly ... however.. when I attempted to run the program, I get the following error:

"Cannot find java exe."

"Neither (null)\\jre\\bin\\java.exe nor (null)\\vin\\java.exe exists"

My question is:  Even though I installed the "stand-alone" version ... do I have-to install additional files? 

If so... which, and where can I find them?

Thanks for any help you can give me!

tomking23's picture

8 Answers:

Code:
just setup the JAVA_HOME 
Environmental variable with the following path.

C:\\Program Files\\jasperserver-pro-3.7\\java\\jre

You will be alright. Refer to the screenshot.</td></tr></tbody></table>
arundba's picture

Thank you very much for your response...

I had to "ADD" the Environmental variable... to the system properties... as it was not in the list at all ... however... nothing happened...

When I try to run iReport... I still get the "Cannot find Java.exe..." error.

Moreover... I don't even have the directory referenced in the environmental variable you suggested I add... iReport didn't install that directory (see attached picture of my directory) ...

Do I need to install JasperServer and/or JasperReports, in addition to iReport... to get the necessary support files to run iReport?

Thanks again ... !

Post Edited by tomking23 at 02/15/2010 03:24
tomking23's picture
hi tom, you don't need to install jasper server. search for java.exe on your system. Set that as the JAVA_HOME variable. once you point the java. you should be able to run ireport. i have iReport on windows 7 pro.
arundba's picture
if you don't have java on your system, you have to download and install it. jre5 or jre6 will also do.
arundba's picture