We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Subreport return values when no data

soham

I have a master report which should add all the sub report totals. So, each sub report returns its total to the main report. Here is the master report's layout.

Title band :

SR1total variable( Calculation type - System, Reset type -  Report)

SR2total variable(Same as above)

Detail band:

SR1(Returning GrandTotal to SR1total); GrandTotal's Calulation type is Sum with initialValue as 0.00

SR2(Returning GrandTotal to SR2total); GrandTotal's Calulation type is Sum with initialValue as 0.00

When there is no data for a sub report(No pages on no data), i am trying to return the GrandTotal as 0.00, but, it returns null. Is there anyway i could return 0.00?

Also, i was not able to store the addition of SR totals into a masterreport variable(tried System and nothing Calc types). I could print the additon using a text field in the title band. But, cannot put the same expression in a variable and use that variable to print in the same location. I need to use this grand total repeatedly in the master report, and i have 5 subreports. If i can't store this in a variable, i will have to use the expression $V{1}+$V{2}+$V{3}+$V{4}+${5} in several locations such as conditional styles etc.

JR version: 3.5.0

IReport version: 2.0.5

Report language: Groovy

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

--Naveen

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

soham

Wrote:

When there is no data for a sub report(No pages on no data), i am trying to return the GrandTotal as 0.00, but, it returns null. Is there anyway i could return 0.00? 

Try to set 0 as initialValueExpression for the subreport variable.