We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

How to set the field used for a group by parameter

bob007

Hi all,

I'm new with JasperReports, and I'm asking myself if there any way to set by parameter the field to use for a group ? And I have the same question for a textField.

I will always have the same fields but I want to be able to change the grouping and one textfield specifying the field by parameter.

Is it doable ?

Or I have to change it programmatically when the .jxml if precompiled ? Then what is the best way to change a small part of the .jxml like that ?

Thanks,

Phil

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I  tested with parameters values:
- bondetravail_groupe
- $F{bondetravail_groupe}
- <![CDATA[$F{bondetravail_groupe}]]>

The grouping are not working with the specified parameter.
The textField display (in result) the string exactly like the parameter string (ex: $F{bondetravail_groupe} ) not like the value of specified field.

So I guess the only way to modify the report is doing it programmaticly.  To build my report with JasperDesign.

I don't want to have a template (.jasper) for each grouping possibilities.

Hi, i tried that and it didnt work. with the value parameter  value: bondetravail_noBon.

<parameter name="fieldNameParameter" class="java.lang.String">

<defaultValueExpression><![CDATA[]]></defaultValueExpression>

</parameter>

<field name="bondetravail_noBon" class="java.lang.String"/>

<group name="groupe">

<groupExpression><![CDATA[$P{REPORT_SCRIPTLET}.getFieldValue( $P{fieldNameParameter} )]]></groupExpression>

<groupHeader>

<band height="31">

<textField isBlankWhenNull="true">

<reportElement x="1" y="11" width="187" height="20"/>

<textElement>

<font size="14" isBold="true"/>

</textElement>

<textFieldExpression class="java.lang.String"><![CDATA[$P{REPORT_SCRIPTLET}.getFieldValue( $P{fieldNameParameter} )]]></textFieldExpression>

</textField>

</band>

</groupHeader>