Changes to the Jaspersoft community edition download ×

SUM incorrect - not adding last Subreport value

nealhudson

Hi

I'm pulling my hair out with this one. I have a Master report and Subreport. The subreport contains a few detail lines, and a subtotal. The subtotal is being displayed correctly. This is passed back to the Master report as a variable. I have another variable set up to total this, which is then displayed in the Summary section.

However - the value of the total displayed in the Summary section, is always short the final subtotal.

I've tried searching the forum but have been unable to find a resolution to this.

Mentioned in this post: http://www.jasperforge.org/index.php?option=com_joomlaboard&Itemid=&func=view&catid=8&id=20508#20508

was that it mattered what order you defined the variables.

If I define the total first, then the variable which contains the subtotal returned from the subreport - I get the scenario listed above. If I reverse the order and define the subtotal variable, then the total - the total displays null.

I'm more than a little confused by this behaviour... - is this working as expected?

How do I return a subtotal from a subreport, and print an overall total at the bottom of the master report???

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

mfassbender wrote:

Please check if evaluation time for the total field is set to "REPORT". Only in this case all subreports are evaluated before.

The total field is Variable, with Reset Type = Report. I don't see any evaluation time for the Variable.

For the text field that displays the total variable, I've tried Evaluation Time - Report, Now, Auto - all do the same thing - which is show the total not taking into account the last value returned from the subreport.

svenn wrote:

I could never get this to work properly. I end up creating a separate class and using getter and setter to accumulate my totals.