We've recently updated our Privacy Statement, available here ×

Session Bean (Adapter) Help

By: Richard J. Ciardo - rciardo

Session Bean (Adapter) Help

2003-07-30 13:59

I am trying to front the JasperReports classes with a sesion bean and have run into a problem. My session bean is a bit crude but I am new to Java let alone J2EE and it is for testing right now anyway. Here is the function from my impl class:

String createReportHTML( int aRptCode )

{

String rptPath = "C:\Temp\reportstore\";

String rptFile = "none";

String rptName = "none";

String rptSourcePath = rptPath + "xml\";

String rptCompilePath = rptPath + "jasper\";

String rptHTMLPath = rptPath + "html\";

switch ( aRptCode )

{

case 1:

rptFile = "ts_140_us_01";

rptName = "User Software";

break;

default:

rptFile = "Error";

rptName = "Error";

}

if ( rptFile != "Error" ) {

System.out.println("BEFORE TRY");

try {

System.out.println(" TRY(src): " + rptSourcePath + rptFile + ".xml");

System.out.println(" TRY(dst): " + rptCompilePath + rptFile + ".jasper");

JasperManager.compileReportToFile( rptSourcePath + rptFile + ".xml", rptCompilePath + rptFile + ".jasper" );

}

catch (JRException e) {

System.out.println("An exception has occurred!");

System.out.println(" Type : " + e.getClass().getName());

System.out.println(" Messagee: " + e.getMessage());

return "Exception";

}

System.out.println("AFTER TRY");

}

return rptName;

}

The problem I have having is that any time I call a method on the JasperManager, JasperCompileManager, JasperFillManager or JasperExportManager I get the following exception on my app server (EAServer 4.2)

Jul 30 15:36:34 2003: java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError: org.apache.commons.logging.LogConfigurationException: java.lang.NullPointerException

Jul 30 15:36:34 2003: at org.apache.commons.logging.LogFactory.newFactory(LogFactory.java:558)

Jul 30 15:36:34 2003: at org.apache.commons.logging.LogFactory.getFactory(LogFactory.java:355)